Guest Blog – Michael D Roberts

It’s my first Guest Blogger! (Hopefully the first of many),

I’d like to welcome Michael D Roberts, Actor, Writer, Stage Technician at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and twitter friend of mine since November 2011. We first came in to contact when agreeing 30th November was definitely too early to start Christmas shopping. Since then Michael has become a very supportive writer-friend, he is also a very funny sitcom writer and a name to watch out for in the future.

I’ve always believed in the saying, you get out of life what you’re willing to put into it.

Hi, I’m Michael David Roberts, remember that name because you’ll be seeing it in lights one day, well I hope so anyway. My story begins back in 2007 when I started a writing a pilot episode to a sitcom, based around a funeral directors called Morbid. The whole show centred on a brother and sister called Michael and Ashley. In the first episode we find out Michael and Ashley’s parents are recently deceased and the plot of the first series was to see if they could take over the family business and make a success of their inheritance. But as we all know a sitcom never allows for straightforward thinking; my aim was to see how many funerals they could mess up. The sitcom contained two other characters, Dave and Elric. Dave’s character was based around your modern day Del Boy and Elric was an off the wall character you could write anything for; it would just make sense because he was that strange. So as you can see I had my work cut out for me at the start.

English: Buick Flxible Hearse (note spelling f...

I bet you’re thinking, why did it take me five years to write it and get it sent off? Well, I kept thinking in my head it wasn’t finished and was scared of the outcome as well. I’d built these characters up in my head and didn’t want to let go to them if no-one wanted my script.

January 2012 came. I made a pact to send it off as soon as I’d looked over it and touched up a few more scenes, only to find out the BBC already had a similar idea from a writer in Huddersfield. Well I’ll be honest, I had no-one to blame but myself, but I wasn’t going to let that stop me. My next step is to put things in place to film the episode and see what the world thinks of my idea. I’ve been calling up funeral directors for hearses and coffins, speaking to friends who know a cameraman and talking to actors from the local universities in Liverpool. I know at the moment I can’t offer anything in return, but I am a man who never forgets a favour and remembers everyone who helped me get to where I am today. I know I will find the people needed to help me and when I can repay them I will. What really matters is that you’re willing to put the time and effort into working toward something you truly want to do in life.

Out of Morbid came my production company, Take the Cake Productions. I’ve recruited some really talented people and I’ve got a new mission now: to make the best loved comedy production company in the UK. I need you to help me get there.

I don’t want to change the world, I just want to make it laugh.

Thank you for listening to me. I hope this has made you want to achieve goals you’ve set out in life.

If you’re based around the Liverpool area and can offer any help to get the Morbid pilot off the ground, please get in touch with Michael. You can follow Michael at @michaeldroberts , @takethecakepro and on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/TakeTheCakeProductions.

View a short sketch by Michael at:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=GB&hl=en-GB&client=mv-google&v=3TrovtsnDrk&nomobile=1

2 thoughts on “Guest Blog – Michael D Roberts

  1. I wish him all the luck. Actually, you probably can change the world by making it laugh. Sorry I’m nowhere near Liverpool to lend a hand but I’ll keep a look out for the name of the writer and company. Fresh talent is always needed and a positve attitude works wonders.

Leave a Reply

